KSBNS 2023

The 26th Annual Meeting of the Korean Society for Brain and Neural Sciences

September 6(Wed)-8(Fri), 2023
BEXCO, Busan, South Korea

Award Lectures

Joseph J. Chang Research Award Ceremony and Lecture

    • Date September 6
    • Time 16:10 ~ 16:30
    • Location Auditorium

The Joseph J. Chang Award was established to commemorate Dr. Joseph J. Chang (1927-2011), the first president of KSBNS and acknowledge those who have contributed to the development of neuroscience as well as creative achievements in the field of neuroscience. This award is sponsored by the family of Dr. Chang.

  • Sung Joong LeeSeoul National University


    My Journey of Glia Research: from Transcriptional Regulation to Behavior

    • Dr. Sung Joong Lee received Ph.D. degree in 1999 based on his work on the transcriptional regulation mechanism and function of ICAM-1 gene in astrocytes. Since then, his research has been primarily focused on unraveling the in vivo role of glial cells in brain physiology and pathophysiology. He has made significant contributions in this field, developing microglia-specific conditional knockout mice for the first time, and uncovering their critical role in various neurological disorders including stroke. He has dedicated elucidating the mechanisms of spinal cord microglia activation in the nerve injury-induced neuropathic pain. With his effort for more than 10 years, he has revealed a novel axis for spinal cord microglia activation involving GT1b-TLR2-Nox2 in the nerve injury-induced neuropathic pain. In his recent research endeavors, Dr. Lee’s interests have shifted toward real-time in vivo astrocyte activity and their behavioral functions. He discovered that hippocampal astrocytes modulate anxiety behavior, and prefrontal astrocytes control mouse dominance behavior by regulating synaptic E/I balance.

Scitech Korea Young Neuroscientist Awards Ceremony and Lectures

    • Date September 6
    • Time 15:40 ~ 16:10
    • Location Auditorium

These awards, sponsored by Scitech Korea Inc., were established in 2012 to reward young neuroscientists in Korea, who accomplish outstanding achievements and continuous contributions to the advancement of Korean neuroscience research for international recognition through productive publication and research activities. In the beginning, this award was created to honor one young neuroscientist. In 2021, it was expanded to celebrate both male and female neuroscientists.

  • Jeongjin KimKorea Institute of Science and Technology


    Neural basis for cognitive-motor integration in basal ganglia outputs

    • Dr. Jeongjin Kim received her Ph.D. degree in neuroscience at the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST). Dr. Kim is engaged in cutting-edge research employing advanced neuroscience techniques, such as in vivo electrophysiology, in vivo calcium imaging, optogenetics, and cell dissection techniques. Her primary focus is to investigate the role of the basal ganglia and its output circuits in motor and cognitive-motor integration processes. A notable contribution of her work is the proposition of new models for basal ganglia function and output circuits, which effectively address the limitations of classical basal ganglia models established three decades ago. These innovative models have garnered attention as they shed light on how various motor symptoms in Parkinson's disease can emerge within the basal ganglia circuitry. Recently, she has discovered new types of cells in basal ganglia output circuits and is elucidating the novel neural mechanisms governing cognitive-motor integration and their potential roles in neurodevelopmental disorders. These findings have the potential to significantly advance our understanding of brain function and may have implications for a wide range of neurological disorders.

  • Choong-Wan WooSungkyunkwan University


    Understanding pain: Insights from the brain and artificial intelligence

    • Dr. Choong-Wan Woo is the director of the Cocoan lab. His research focuses on understanding how the human brain represents, processes, and regulates pain and emotions using machine learning and computational modeling. He received his dual PhD in the Department of Psychology and Neuroscience and the Institute of Cognitive Sciences from the University of Colorado Boulder (PhD advisor: Tor D. Wager), and MA (in psychology) and BS (in Biology) from Seoul National University. He has received many awards, including the Top 100 R&D achievements from the government in 2022, Kim Chan Award from the Korean Pain Research Society in 2022, Outstanding Achievement Award from the Korean Society for Human Brain Mapping in 2021, Jaeil Kim Young Scholar Paper Award from the Korean Psychological Association in 2019. Currently, he is an associate director of the IBS Center for Neuroscience Imaging Research, an assistant professor in the Department of Biomedical Engineering at Sungkyunkwan University (SKKU) and also the BK21-FOUR funded department of Intelligent Precision Healthcare Convergence (IPHC) at (SKKU).